Bamenda

After a long period of waiting, I’ve finally been reassigned to a new post. I have been moved to Bamenda, the capital of the North West region of Cameroon. Here I will be working at a much higher level where I hope I can better utilize my skills.

My partner organization is the Delegation of Secondary Education for the North West Region where I will be doing training in computer maintenance and repair as well as computer networking for secondary school teachers all over the region.

My second organization is the newly formed University of Bamenda (Formerly an École normale supérieure – A teachers training college for secondary school teachers) where I will be doing consulting for network design as well as teaching computer skills to lecturers.

In addition I will be working with BUST (Bamenda University of Science and Technology), helping with the CISCO networking program and their computer network.

Bamenda is very vibrant and comparatively developed urban city in the Anglophone section of Cameroon, so my work will now mostly be carried out in English. However, there are still Francophones around to speak French with. It will be an exciting change living in a city (with all its luxuries) after a year of village life.

I am very happy about my new assignment and hope I can make a positive impact in Bamenda over the next year of my service.

Below are some pictures of Bamenda, my new work sites, and new colleagues.

