CISCO and A+ Certification Classes

I have been lucky enough to begin teaching two international ICT credentials: Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) and CompTIA A+.

A+ teaches “competence in areas such as installation, preventative maintenance, networking, security and troubleshooting.” This is a very new field in Cameroon and thus a very lucrative profession. There is a real lack of skilled computer technicians and teachers so I hope my students will help change that trend.

CCNA teaches “the ability to install, configure, operate, and troubleshoot medium-size route and switched networks.” Overall, this course teaches the foundations of computer networking and the internet, with a focus on CISCO networking equipment. This is another skill which is sorely lacking in Cameroon.

I have taken both courses in the US and am enjoying time teaching them, as they are much more advanced and to my interest than my high school lessons. I really enjoy working with intelligent and motivated adult students in relatively small class sizes.

The schools I am working with are the Bamenda University of Science and Technology (BUST), the Institute of Professional Studies (IPS), and the Institute of Industrial Reformation.

Below are some pictures of my students hard at work as well as a few of my colleague professors.

