Junos MPLS L3VPN Lab

peterp lab - L3VPN MPLS Design - New Page

We are running a provider level MPLS network on Juniper gear at my current organization, so to get a better understanding of the ins and outs of MPLS I created a small lab to play with.

I didn’t have any spare MX series routers, so instead I used three physical SRX 240s configured to be packet-based to simulate a router.

The lab design has two Provider Edge routers (R1 and R3)  with two customer VRFs each, and one Core router (R2) to illustrate a BGP free core network.

I used OSPF on the 192.168.x.x networks to learn the 172.16.0.x loopback addresses for MP-BGP. LDP is used on the 192.168.x.x interfaces for label distribution. The customer ranges are in the 10.x.x.x address space.

I very creatively used Route Distinguisher 1 and 2 for customers 1 and 2 respectively.

Check out the above network diagram, the device configurations on github, and the Amazing Juniper Documentation if you’d like to try this at home!

Below are the routing tables on R1, which shows each customers routing table, MPLS labels, and MP-BGP routes.

 

