Working in Antarctica

I’m starting my dream job – working as a Network Engineer at McMurdo Research Station in Antarctica!

I arrived in Christchurch, New Zealand to receive my cold weather gear and training and was quickly ferried to McMurdo in a C-17 cargo plane which landed on an ice runway a few miles from the main base.

The station is very impressive, it houses over 1000 contractors and scientists in the peak of the summer, who support science across the continent. Its very comfortable here, with modern facilities, hot showers, and great food.

Everyone I have met has been amazing, interesting people from all over the US with different skill sets and backgrounds. Many of them have been working in Antarctica for many seasons.

The environment here is beautiful, the trails on Ross Island offer breathtaking views of the natural beauty of the environment. It is hard to capture in photographs, but I’ve included a few photos from my first few days here.

There is still so much to see and explore, and I’m truly grateful for this amazing experience!

