My First Book Published on Amazon

After a lot of editing my first book, Understanding Computer Troubleshooting and Maintenance, is finally available for download from Amazon in eReader format for reading on your mobile devices!

Cover

Here is the introduction to the first edition:

 This book was originally written as a supplement for a seminar course of mine while I served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Cameroon, West Africa, from 2010 to 2012.

 I joined the Peace Corps in 2010 after receiving my degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Pittsburgh. In Cameroon I served as an Education Volunteer teaching Computer Science. This book is the result of my work at the Cameroonian Delegation of Secondary Education where I was assigned there as a teacher trainer, working with secondary school teachers for the relatively new computer science program introduced to schools across the country. My “students” were mostly experienced middle aged teachers and supervisors who were experienced teachers but had little training in computer skills.

 This book was created from my various notes and lesson plans for the seminars I gave for these teachers. The goal of the seminar was to help these dedicated teachers understand more about how their computers worked and how to keep them in working condition in the field. Cameroonian schools are often very short staffed and the computer science teacher serves as an educator, a technician, and tech support for the whole school. The better educated these teachers were, the better they could maintain their aging computer labs, and the more time students could spend using computers.

Seeing that my notes were filling an essential need for a practical guide for basic computer troubleshooting and maintenance, I compiled them into this short book.

Unfortunately Amazon Publishing doesn’t seem to allow listing books for free, so my book is available at the minimum listing price of $0.99. You can get the kindle version from the Amazon link below.

Amazon Store